2019 Athletics Banquet held on Sunday

2019 Athletics Banquet held on Sunday

IRVING, Texas – The University of Dallas athletics department celebrated its sixth annual end of the year banquet on Sunday, May 5, at the Hagger University Center. Each coach from the 15 NCAA affiliated programs took a moment to speak on behalf of their program, as well as recognize those that received postseason achievements highlighted by each team’s Most Valuable Player (Listed at bottom).  

Athletics Director Dick Strockbine opened the night by citing that 290 Dallas student-athletes participated during the 2018-19 year, which is the highest ever and continues to surpass the previous year totals. The students altogether posted a 2.97 GPA, 49 students were named to the Dean’s List, and 60 on the Honor Roll.

In addition, Strockbine mentioned the addition of graduate assistants for men’s basketball and sports information, which now brings the department total to five graduate assistants in just two years of offering the additional staff. Facility upgrades that were headlined by the resurfaced playing and practice fields with lights for the soccer programs. The Baseball Booster Club, who were awarded the St. Sebastian Award in April, also made huge contributions of support that allowed for additional seating along the first base line, new dugout railings, and continuing to help give support for the Clubhouse that was used the first academic year.

On the field achievements included: the 2019 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Men’s Golf Champions, Gold Medalist Kevin McGuirk in the 400 Meter Hurdles, and Winningest Coach in UD men’s basketball history Jarred Samples.  

At the time of the release, there were 29 SCAC All-Conference selections (Lacrosse to be released Tuesday), 12 United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) All-Americans, 11 USCAA National All-Academic winners, and 55 SCAC Fall Student-Athlete Academic Honor Roll recipients.

Towards the conclusion of the event, the 20th different UD Scholar-Athlete since its inception in 1983-84 went to men’s cross country Gabe Vazquez. He is just the third cross country runner to earn the achievement, as the sophomore boasted a 4.0 GPA to notch the honor.

UD Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Photos of the Event


Men’s Soccer

Sean Taylor, Chase Reynolds

Women’s Soccer

May Lien Le


Krystyn Pua

Men’s Cross Country

Joseph Kilmer

Women’s Cross Country

Anna Wilgenbusch

Men’s Basketball

Joshua Nunn

Women’s Basketball

Vanessa Diaz


Josh Abalos


Julie Duenas

Men’s Golf

Emilio Montalvo

Men’s Track & Field

Kevin McGuirk

Women’s Track & Field

Anna Wilgenbusch

Men’s Lacrosse

Tucker Jameson

Women’s Lacrosse

Mason Cosgrove