UD Athletics Announce 2019 Hall of Fame Class

UD Athletics Announce 2019 Hall of Fame Class

IRVING, Texas – The 2019 University of Dallas Hall of Fame Inductees are Fait Elkins, Brian Stanfield and Kylie Yoshimura the Athletics Department announced on Monday. The trio will be inducted on November 17, 2019, at the Rathskellar located in the J.M. Haggar Sr. University Center/Visitor Center. It is the 23rd induction ceremony since the inaugural Class of 1998 (Two induction dates in 2004) and will raise the total of inductees to 74.

Elkins joined U of Dallas in 1925, starting for the baseball, basketball, and football teams as well as being a mainstay on the track team. Elkins regularly entered in six or seven events and became a force at major track meets. In the fall of 1925 Elkins led the football team to a 7-2-1 record and the Dallas News informed readers that “In Chief Elkins, the Hilltoppers have one of the greatest running backs in the Southwest.” Elkins was a Caddo Indian born in Oklahoma. He also reached the National Football League, won the United States Amateur Athletic Union Decathlon and was featured in a Sports Illustrated Story in 1991 where the author commented, "He was among the greatest athletes ever in this country." 

Brian Stanfield led the Crusaders men’s basketball team for nine seasons (1999-2008) and was the first coach in the program to eclipse 100 career wins with 111. Stanfield guided his teams to a pair of the programs’ three seasons with the most wins at 18. These were 2000-01, when he was awarded American Southwest Conference (ASC) Coach-of-the-Year, and 2002-03. Stanfield also was at the helm for the Crusaders’ longest winning streak at 15 and winning percentage at .750 during the 2000-01 campaign. He was also the coach for the team’s largest win margin against Dallas Christian College (74) on November 21, 2000.

Stanfield also coached current head coach Jarred Samples. Stanfield did hold the all-time wins record until 2019 when Samples broke the mark. Under Stanfield’s guidance, the Crusaders had an ASC Player of the Year, ASC and Association of Division III Independents (AD3I) Rookies of the Year, two years with an ASC All-Conference Team recipient, six ASC All-Division players, seven ASC All-Academics, seven All-Americans, one AD3I All-Conference mention, and Verizon Academic All-District VI College Division Men’s Basketball Team honoree.

Kylie Yoshimura is the fourth member of the women’s basketball program to be inducted and first since Ashley Smith in 2004. Yoshimura lettered four seasons and boasted the rarity of being named MVP each season in her career as well. A 2013 graduate, Yoshimura is the top player in the program for assists in a season (175 | 2012-13) and career (586), while also matching the single-game record for assists with 12 happening twice versus Centenary College on January 19, 2013 and against Arlington Baptist College on February 11 that same year. Those performances matched current Hall of Famer Janet Gribnitz 20 years prior from the feats on those dates. Yoshimura also shattered the assists-per-game records in a season (6.48) and career (5.48). The point guard also matched Gibnitz all-time for most three-point field goals with 189.

Yoshimura garnered many accolades highlighted by her AD3I Rookie of the Year in 2009-10, two United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) All-Americans in 2011-12 and 2012-13, five all-conference selections, Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) All-Tournament Team, and spot on the SCAC Academic Honor Roll in 2011-12.